South Carolina state laws clearly states that it is illegal for a minor to possess, attempt to purchase or consume any alcoholic beverage. Violation of South Carolina code of laws Sections 63-19-2440(A) & 61-4-60 carry differentiating legal ramifications dependent upon which statute is broken. A minor attempting to consume, purchase or possess alcohol in the state of South Carolina can be subjected to fines of $100-$200 and up to 30 days of incarceration depending on the judgement ordered by the preceding court official.
A minor who intentionally misrepresents their age in order to possess or consume alcohol in the state of South Carolina will be fined $100-$200 and sentenced to a mandatory jail sentence of 30 days or both. This statute is written in South Carolina code of laws ann. Section 61-4-60. If a minor is suspected of being intoxicated, law enforcement officers have the legal right to subject the minor to an alcohol screening test.
There are some exceptions when it comes to minors handling alcohol in the state of South Carolina. Minors 18 years and older may serve or ring up alcoholic beverages as part of their employment in establishments licensed to sell alcohol. Minors are also permitted to sell or transport alcohol in unopened containers as part of their employment terms. For educational purposes, minors 18 and older may taste but not consume alcohol under the direct supervision of an adult instructor during the course of a licensed and accredited culinary program.
A minor is allowed to receive but not consume alcohol if they are recruited by a law enforcement agency to test the compliance of a person or establishment in conjunction with South Carolina minor in possession law. Minors are allowed to possess and consume alcohol for religious purposes as long as the alcohol was purchased legally by an adult. Adults who provide alcohol to minors as part of a religious ceremony will not be convicted of violating laws which pertain to furnishing alcohol to a minor. Adults are permitted to give alcohol to their minor children as long as it is within their own home. This action is stated in South Carolina code of laws Section 61-6-4070(A)(1)&(2).
Contact the attorneys at The Law Office of H. Chase Harbin if you need help with your minor in possession charge in Greenville, SC.
Chase Harbin is a Criminal Defense Lawyer who practices in Pickens and Greenville, SC. He graduated from the University of South Carolina School of Law, and has been practicing law for 17 years now. Chase Harbin believes in defending the accused. Learn more about his experience by clicking here.